Make your own free website on

Basic examination guide

Link to additional list

Basic examination guide
Grade Ikyo omote/ ura Nikyo omote/ ura Sankyo omote/ ura Yonkyo omote/ ura Gokyo omote/ ura Irimi nage Kote gaeshi Shiho nage omote / ura Tenchi nage Kaiten nage uchi/ soto Kokyu nage Koshi nage Juji garami Ukemi Kokyu ho Taino henko Buki waza 
6 kyu
3 md.
Shomen uchi . . . . Shomen uchi . . . . . . . Mae.. Ushiro.. Yoko.. Morote dori & Suwari Kihon Ken- & jo- kamae
5 kyu
3 md.
Kata dori & Shomen uchi . . . Kosa dori & Shomen uchi . . . . . . . . Ki no nagare Ken suburi 1-3
4 kyu
6 md.
Kata dori, Katate dori, Kosa dori & Shomen uchi . Katate dori, Kosa dori & Shomen uchi Ryote dori (kihon) Katate dori . . . . . Ken suburi 1-7
Jo suburi 1-10
3 kyu
1 year
Yokomen uchi, Muna tsuki, Ryote dori, Tachi- & Suwari-waza.
Jiyu waza: Do different techniques from one attack.
. Ryote dori 3 diff. Ryote dori Muna dori Tobu ukemi . Jo suburi 1-20
2 kyu
1 year
Morote dori, Kata dori shomen uchi, Ushiro ryote dori.
Jiyu waza: Do one techniques from different attacks.
(Ki no nagare) Shomen uchi & Muna tsuki 5 diff. From diff. holds Ushiro ryote dori . . 31 jo kata.
Tanto-, Tachi- & Jo-dori (2 diff.).
1 kyu
1 year
Hanmi handachi.
Taninzu gake jiyu waza with 2 uke (Randori).
10 diff. From diff. attacks 4 diff. . Diff. versions. 13 jo kata.
Ken awase.
Tanto-, Tachi- jo-dori (4 diff).
  1. This is only a basic guide. For each exam there can be an additional list of techniques you have to know.
  2. To be able to go to the exams, you have to practice regularly.
  3. For an exam it is expected, that you know the techniques from the previous exams.
  4. The time interval mention under each grade is the minimum time a student should wait before to take a given exam. Exceptions to this periods can be done. A student is to wait a least one more year after 1th kyu to get his 1th dan.
The examination system should help the teacher to prepare a student to be ready for the shodan examination under regular practice. Because of this, the examination system is based on a highly structure development of the techniques down through the grads. A student has to practise regular to get his exams, and with the given time interval between the exams, it will take a student about 2 years to be 3rd kyu and 5 years to be 1st dan.

The follow is a description of what a examiner has to expect of a student on each level of the examination system.
To the 6th and 5th kyu exam, the student has to show his ability in the basic movement (Taino henko, Kokyu ho) and falls. The first aikido techniques are introduced here, and the student has to show a minimum understanding of them.
At the 4th kyu exam the student has to distinct very clearly between omote- and ura-waza. Also, he has to have a well understanding of the techniques asked and the Japanese word used.
To the 3rd kyu exam, the student has to know the whole compendium of techniques. He has to have developed a free sensation of the techniques so he can perform a Jiyu wasa from one type of attack. The student has to concentrate more on the techniques less on the attacks. Also the student has to be able to take high break fall (Tobu ukemi).
At 2nd kyu the student now has so much freedom in his techniques that he can begin to receive different attack on one technique.
At the 1st kyu exam, the felling of freedom in the techniques from the 2nd kyu has to be at a level so the student can perform a Jiyu wasa with two partners, there continuously attack him with attacks after there own choice.